

### SUPPLEMENT No. 3

# THE CYPRUS GAZETTE No. 3169 of 27th MARCH, 1945

## SUBSIDIARY LEGISLATION.

### No. 72. THE COMMISSIONS OF ENQUIRY LAW, 1942.

C. C. WOOLLEY.

Rules made under Section 12.

Governor.

- I, the Governor, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 12 of the Commissions of Enquiry Law, 1942, do hereby make the following rules:—
  - 1. These rules may be cited as the Commissions of Enquiry Rules, 1945.

2. In these rules unless the context otherwise requires—

"the Commission" means a Commission appointed by the Governor under

the provisions of the Commissions of Enquiry Law, 1942.
"Chairman" means the person appointed as Chairman of the Commission.

- 3. The Commission shall sit at such times and places as may be fixed by the Chairman.
- 4. If the Chairman is for any reason absent from any meeting, a person elected by the members of the Commission present at the meeting shall preside.
- 5. Where there are more than four members, three members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for all purposes.
- 6. The procedure to be followed at an enquiry and in any matter arising thereunder shall be regulated by the Commission in such manner as to it may appear desirable:

Provided that such procedure shall be, as nearly as possible, the same as the procedure followed in a Court of Law.

7. The service of summonses, warrants and other documents and the enforcement of warrants, orders and other like matters shall be governed by the Law and rules applicable in similar matters in proceedings in a Court of Law.

Made this 27th day of March, 1945.

# No. 73. THE COMMISSIONS OF ENQUIRY LAW, 1942.

Commission of Enquiry appointed under Section 2.

C. C. WOOLLEY,

Governor.

I, the Governor, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 2 of the Commissions of Enquiry Law, 1942, do hereby order as follows:—

1. I hereby appoint with effect from the 27th March, 1945, a Commission of Enquiry consisting of three Commissioners, that is to say:—

R. A. Godwin-Austen Esq., C.B.E., Chairman.

His Honour M. C. Melissas, President, District Court.

His Honour M. Zekia, District Judge.