#### No. 415.

# THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATIONS LAWS, 1930 TO 1941.

### BYE-LAWS MADE BY THE COUNCIL OF THE MUNICIPAL CORPORATION OF LAPITHOS.

In exercise of the powers vested in them by the Municipal Corporations Laws, 1930 to 1941 and otherwise, the Council of the Municipal Corporation of Lapithos hereby make the following bye-laws:-

Gazettes: 13.11.1931 16. 9.1932 20, 4.1934 30. 8.1935 Supplement No. 3: 19. 2.1937

20. 1.1939

- 1. These bye-laws may be cited as the Municipal Corporation (Lapithos) Bye-laws, 1942, and shall be read as one with the Municipal Corporation (Lapithos) Bye-laws, 1931 to 1939 (hereinafter referred to as "the principal Bye-laws ") and the principal Bye-laws and these bye-laws may together be cited as the Municipal Corporation (Lapithos) Bye-laws, 1931 to 1942.
- 2. The following bye-laws shall be inserted in the principal Bye-laws immediately after bye-law 113:-
  - "113A. No person shall make or attempt to make any street and house-to-house collection for any charitable, philanthropic or other purpose unless such person or the institution or society of which such person is a member shall have previously obtained a licence from the Council in that behalf.

113B. Every such licence shall state the date or dates, the manner and the time or times at which the collection to which the licence relates shall be made, and may contain such other terms and conditions as the Council may in each case determine.'

The above bye-laws have been approved by His Excellency the Governor.

(M.P. 1686/08/2.)

#### No. 416.

#### The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Mansoura-Ayios Theodhoros Tillirias in the District of Nicosia, are published in the Gazette. (M.P. 616/42.)

## IRRIGATION DIVISION OF MANSOURA-AYIOS THEODHOROS TILLIRIAS. Rules

- 1. These Rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Mansoura-Ayios Theodhoros Tillirias Rules, 1942.

  - 2. In these Rules, unless the context otherwise requires—
    "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Nicosia;

    - "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division;
      "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Mansoura-Ayios Theodhoros Tillirias;
    - "Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938;
  - "list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law;
    - "works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.
- 3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of two years beginning on the 5th June, 1942. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every second year in the first week of the month of May and it shall hold office for a period of two years from the 5th June next following its election.
- 4.—(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.
- (2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st October in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.