No 299.

THE ELECTIONS (HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND COMMUNAL CHAMBERS) LAWS, 1959 AND 1960.

DECLARATION OF ELECTION OF CANDIDATES UNDER SECTION 17.

Whereas by section 17 of the Elections (House of Representatives and Communal Chambers) Law, 1959 and 1960, it is, *inter alia*, provided that if as the result of a candidate withdrawing his candidature under the provisions of section 14 at any time after nomination and prior to the day of the poll, the number of candidates standing nominated is equal to or is less than the number of seats to be filled, the Returning Officer shall forthwith declare the nominated candidates to be elected and cause the names of the persons so elected to be published in the *Gazette*;

And whereas on the 4th day of August, 1960, and as the result of Mr. Efthyvoulos Ieropoulos withdrawing his candidature on that day, only the candidates whose names appear on the Schedule hereto stood nominated for election as members of the Greek Communal Chamber for the Constituency of Paphos and their number being equal to the number of seats to be filled in the said Constituency of Paphos they were declared to be elected :

Now, therefore, in pursuance of section 17 (1) of the aforesaid Law, the names of the said persons so elected are hereby published in the Gazette.

SCHEDULE.

1. Antonakis Ioannou Soteriades of Ktima.

2. Ioannis Hadji Charalambous of Stroumbi.

3. Nicos Mavronicolas of Ktima.

Dated this 4th day of August, 1960.

D. PARALIKIS, Greek Returning Officer for the Constituency of Paphos.

No. 300.

THE ELECTIONS (HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND COMMUNAL CHAMBERS) LAWS, 1959 AND 1960.

DECLARATION OF ELECTION OF CANDIDATES UNDER SECTION 17.

Whereas by section 17 of the Elections (House of Representatives and Communal Chambers) Laws, 1959 and 1960, it is, *inter alia*, provided that if as a result of a candidate withdrawing his candidature under the provisions of section 14 at any time after nomination and prior to the day of the poll, the number of candidates standing nominated is equal to or is less than the number of seats to be filled, the Returning Officer shall forthwith declare the nominated candidates to be elected and cause the names of the persons so elected to be published in the *Gazette*;

And whereas on the 4th day of August, 1960, and as a result of Mr. Bukayi Koprulu withdrawing his candidature on that day, only the candidates whose names appear on the Schedule hereto stood nominated for election as members of the Turkish Communal Chamber for the Constituency of Limassol and their number being equal to the number of seats to be filled in the said Constituency of Limassol they were declared by me to be elected :

Now, therefore, in pursuance of section 17 (1) of the aforesaid Law, he names of the said persons so elected are hereby published in the *Gazette*.

Schedule.

1. Macit Hakki Yusuf.

2. Djemal Ozden.

3. Vecdet Hji Yahya.

4. Raghip Mehmet Malyali.

Dated this 4th day of August, 1960.

K. HASSAN, Turkish Returning Officer, Turkish Constituency of Limassol.

No. 301.

THE ELECTIONS (HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND COMMUNAL CHAMBERS) LAWS, 1959 AND 1960.

ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE GREEK COMMUNAL CHAMBER.

Whereas by virtue of a writ of election issued by the Governor under sub-section (1) of section 9 of the Elections (House of Representatives and Communal Chambers) Laws, 1959 and 1960, a poll was taken on Sunday the 7th day of August, 1960, for the election of the members of the Greek Communal Chamber for the Greek Constituency of Kyrenia;

And whereas at the aforesaid poll the majority of the votes validly cast were received by the following candidates :

1. Ioannis Harmandas.

2. Achilleas Toumazos.

3. Ioannis Mavrides,

and they have been declared by me, under section 34 (6) of the aforesaid Law, to have been elected :

Now, therefore, in pursuance of section 36(b) of the aforesaid Law, the names of the aforesaid elected members are hereby published in the *Gazette*.

Dated this 7th day of August, 1960.

N. G. LANITIS,

Greek Returning Officer, Greek Constituency of Kyrenia.

No. 302.

THE ELECTRICITY DEVELOPMENT LAWS, 1952 TO 1960.

APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS OF THE AUTHORITY UNDER SECTION 5. In exercise of the powers vested in him by section 5 (1) of the Electricity Development Laws, 1952 to 1960, the Governor has been pleased to appoint the following persons to be members of the Electricity Authority of Cyprus :---

Mr. Gavriel Alexandrou Gavrielides, Chairman,

Mr. Ali Dana, Vice-Chairman,

Mr. Nicos Georghiou Demetriou,

Mr. Michael Evelthon Glykys,

Mr. Stavros Georghiou Galatariotis,

Dr. Polykarpos Nicolopoullos,

Dr. Ziyat Hakki.

All previous appointments are hereby cancelled.

Dated this 3rd day of August, 1960.

By His Excellency's Command,

T. J. LENNARD,

Acting Administrative Secretary.