THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. No. 58. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Kato Amiandos, in the District of Limassol, are published in the Gazette.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF KATO AMIANDOS.

Rules

1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Kato Amiandos (Amendment) Rules, 1955, and shall be read as one with the Irrigation Division of Kato Amiandos Rules, 1931 (hereinafter referred to as "the Gazette: principal Rules") and the principal Rules and these rules may together be 4.12.1931. cited as the Irrigation Division of Kato Amiandos Rules, 1931 and 1955.

2. Rule 10 of the principal Rules is hereby repealed and the following rule substituted therefor :----

"During the period 1st January to 31st December in every year the Committee shall cause the works to be properly cleaned and repaired."

(M.P. 8211/55.)

No. 59.

THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of "Langouphes", Peristerona-Piyi, in the District of Famagusta, are published in the *Gazette*.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF "LANGOUPHES", PERISTERONA-PIYI.

Rules.

1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of "Langouphes", Peristerona-Piyi, Rules, 1955.

2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires-

Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Famagusta.

"Committee " means the Committee of the Irrigation Division. "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of "Langouphes", Peristerona-Piyi.

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111. "List" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law. "Works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 15th November, 1954. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of November and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.

4.--(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st October, in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be unpaid : Provided that he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding $\pounds 2$ per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.

6. All rates assessed under the provisions of the Law and of these rules shall be paid on or before the 30th September, in every year.