No. 458. THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Kalopanayiotis-Oekos, in the District of Nicosia, are published in the Gazette.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF KALOPANAYIOTIS-OEKOS.

Rules.

These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Kalopanayiotis-Oekos (Amendment) Rules, 1955, and shall be read as one with the Irrigation Division of Kalopanayiotis-Oekos (Consolidation and Amendment) Rules, *Gazette :* 1949 (hereinafter referred to as "the principal Rules") and the principal No. 3 : Rules and these rules may together be cited as the Irrigation Division 19.5.1949. of Kalopanayiotis-Oekos (Consolidation and Amendment) Rules, 1949 to 1955.

Supplement

2. Rule 5 of the principal Rules is hereby amended by the deletion therefrom of the word "eighty" and the substitution therefor of the words "one hundred and twenty".

(M.P. 8722/55.)

No. 459.

THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Sotira, in the District of Famagusta, are published in the Gazette.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF SOTIRA. Rules.

1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Sotira Rules, 1955.

2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Famagusta.

"Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division. "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Sotira.

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111. "List" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law. "Works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 24th April, 1955. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of May and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.

4.--(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st October, in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be unpaid : Provided that he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding one pound per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.

6. All rates assessed under the provisions of the Law and of these rules shall be paid on or before the 30th September, in every year.

7. The list shall be examined annually not later than the 1st day of June, in every year, by the Committee who shall have power to amend same as in section 16 (6) of the Law provided.

8. The annual estimates of the Irrigation Division shall be submitted by the Committee to the Commissioner for approval not later than the 30th day of November, in every year.