### No. 518.

## THE VILLAGES (ADMINISTRATION AND IMPROVEMENT) LAW, 1950.

## BOARD OF AYIOS THEODHOROS IN THE DISTRICT OF LIMASSOL.

#### Elected members.

Whereas the elected members on the Board of Ayios Theodhoros as set out in Notification No. 450 of Supplement No. 3 to the *Gazette* of the 17th September, 1953, have resigned their membership:

Now therefore it is notified for general information that the Board of Ayios Theodhoros, in exercise of the powers vested in them by section 6 (5) of the Villages (Administration and Improvement) Law, 1950, have elected the following properly qualified persons to be members of the Board for the duration of the unexpired period of office of the members who have resigned, that is to say, up to the 1st of August, 1957:—

Michael Kourtellis Kyriacos Orphanos Kyriacos Kourris.

(M.P. 1180/53.)

No. 519.

# THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Prastio-Nikitas, in the District of Nicosia, are published in the *Gazette*.

#### IRRIGATION DIVISION OF PRASTIO-NIKITAS.

#### Rules.

1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Prastio-Nikitas Rules, 1953.

2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires-

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Nicosia.

"Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division.

" Irrigation Division " means the Irrigation Division of Prastio-Nikitas.

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111.

"List" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law.

"Works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 9th August, 1953. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the last week of the month of July and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.

4.—(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st September, in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall receive a remuneration of three per centum of all rates and charges collected by him as in paragraph (1) hereof, and, in addition, he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding 80s. per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.