#### No. 209.

# THE WATER (DOMESTIC PURPOSES) VILLAGE SUPPLIES LAW. CAP. 311 AND LAWS 28 OF 1951 AND 12 OF 1952.

# NOTICE UNDER SECTION 3.

In exercise of the powers vested in me by section 3 of the Water (Domestic Purposes) Village Supplies Law, I, the Commissioner of Nicosia and Kyrenia Districts, do hereby declare that the villages of Kara-koumi and Ayios Yeoryios, in the District of Kyrenia, shall be villages to which the provisions of the said Law shall apply.

# Dated this 2nd day of April, 1953.

#### W. F. M. CLEMENS,

Commissioner of Nicosia and Kyrenia.

## (M.P. 1227/53.)

No. 210.

## THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAW. CAP. 111.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Amargeti, in the District of Paphos, are published in the Gazette.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF AMARGETI.

Rules.

#### 1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Amargeti Rules, 1953.

2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires-

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Paphos. "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division. "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Amargeti.

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, Cap. 111. "List" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and

extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law. "Works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 1st March, 1953. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of February and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.

4.--(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall on the 1st November, in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be paid :-

(a) a remuneration of three per centum of all rates and charges collected by him;
(b) such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding 60s. per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.

6. All rates assessed under the provisions of the Law and of these rules shall be paid on or before the 31st October in every year.

7. The list shall be examined annually not later than the 1st day of April, in every year, by the Committee who shall have power to amend same as in section 16 (6) of the Law provided.

8. The annual estimates of the Irrigation Division shall be submitted by the Committee to the Commissioner for approval not later than the 1st day of April, in every year.

9. The Committee shall from time to time authorize the treasurer to pay out of the money in his hands any sum required-

(a) for the works or for the maintenance or repairs thereof;

(b) for any purpose approved by the Commissioner in connection with the operations of the Irrigation Division provision for which is made in any estimates approved by the Commissioner; and