## THE OATHS LAW, 1938.

## SPECIAL AUTHORIZATION UNDER SECTION 6.

By virtue of the powers vested in the Governor by section 6 of the Oaths Law, 1938, and delegated to me under Notification No. 172 published in Supplement No. 3 to the Gazette of 19th June, 1947, I hereby authorize Mr. Demetris Yianni Pavli, Mukhtar of Ayios Servios, to administer oaths for the purposes of the said section of the said Law.

Dated the 28th day of March, 1950.

(M.P. 1483/50.)

B. J. WESTON, Commissioner of Famagusta.

THE IRRIGATION (PRIVATE WATER) ASSOCIATION LAW, 1949.

In pursuance of the provisions of sub-section (3) of section 12 of the Irrigation (Private Water) Association Law, 1949, the following Rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Association of Zodhia, Kato ("Koutraphas" Water), in the District of Nicosia, are published in the Gazette.

> IRRIGATION ASSOCIATION OF ZODHIA, KATO ("KOUTRAPHAS" WATER). Rules.

1. These Rules may be cited as the Irrigation Association of Zodhia, Kato ("Koutraphas" Water) Rules, 1950.

2. In these Rules, unless the context otherwise requires-

- "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Nicosia; "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Association;
- "Irrigation Association" means the Irrigation Association of Zodhia, Kato ("Koutraphas" Water);

"Law" means the Irrigation (Private Water) Association Law, 1949;

"List" means the list of the names and residences of the proprietors and of the extent of the interest of each proprietor in the water, as finally settled in accordance with the provisions of section 11 of the Law;

"works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Association.
"water" means the water commonly known as "Koutraphas" water.

3. The present Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 30th March, 1950. The election of each subsequent Committee shall take place in the manner hereinafter provided every third year in the first week of the month of March and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the date of the expiration of the period of office of the previous Committee.

4.—(1) The Commissioner shall, not less than one month before the holding of the meeting

as in rule 3 provided, cause a written notice thereof to be

(a) published in a newspaper or newspapers; and

(b) posted in a conspicuous place in the town, village or quarter in which the water is situate.

(2) All expenses connected with the notices shall be paid for from the funds of the Irrigation Association.

5.—(1) The Commissioner shall preside at every meeting so convened and if any question is raised as to the right of a person to attend thereat or to vote, the Commissioner may there and then make such enquiry as he may deem requisite and declare whether such person has a right to attend or to vote or not and the decision so made shall be final; and an entry shall be made in the minutes of the meeting of any such question and of the decision thereon.

(2) No business shall be transacted at any such meeting and no decision shall be taken thereat, unless more than one-half of the aggregate number of the proprietors are present in

person or are represented by a proxy properly appointed by an instrument signed in the presence of and certified by a mukhtar.

(3) The Commissioner shall call the persons who are present at the meeting and entitled to yet a to along the person who are present at the meeting and entitled to vote to elect, by an open vote, to be taken as to him may appear convenient, a Committee of not less than three and not more than five persons from among the proprietors.

candidate for such election shall be properly proposed and seconded at the meeting.

(4) Every proprietor present shall be entitled to give one vote for each candidate and every authorized proxy shall be similarly entitled to give one vote in respect of every proprietor

from whom he holds authority.

(5) At the conclusion of the voting the Commissioner shall count the votes and the candidates who have received the greatest number of votes shall be declared to be elected as the Committee and shall hold office for a period of three years from the date of the expiration of the period of office of the previous Committee.