No. 208.

THE SUPPLIES AND SERVICES (TRANSITIONAL POWERS) (CYPRUS) ORDER, 1946.

ORDER MADE BY A COMPETENT AUTHORITY UNDER DEFENCE REGULATION 61.

In exercise of the powers vested in me by virtue of my appointment by the Governor as Competent Authority for the purposes of Defence Regulation 61 as set out in the First Schedule to the Supplies and Services (Transitional Powers) (Cyprus) Order, 1946, and with reference to the Order made by me and published under Notification No. 98 in Supplement No. 3 to the Gazette of 3rd March, 1949 (hereinafter referred to as "the Order"), I do hereby order that the revocation of the Orders specified in the Schedule to the Order shall be deemed to have been made with effect from the 1st day of January, 1949.

Made at Nicosia, this 21st day of May, 1949.

J. F. SYMONS,
Acting Controller of Supplies,
Competent Authority.

No. 209. THE IRRIGATION DIVISIONS (VILLAGES) LAWS, 1938 TO 1949.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Laws, 1938 to 1949, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Alona, in the District of Nicosia, are published in the Gazette.

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF ALONA.

Rules.

- 1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Alona Rules, 1949.
 - 2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires—

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Nicosia;

"Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division; "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Alona;

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Laws, 1938 to 1949:

"list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law;

"works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division of Alona.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 17th January, 1949. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of January and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.