THE WAR LOAN LAW, 1944.

REGULATIONS MADE UNDER SECTION 17.

C. C. WOOLLEY.

Governor.

I, the Governor in Council, in exercise of the powers conferred by section 17 of the War Loan Law, 1944, do hereby make the following regulations :-

1. These regulations may be cited as the Second War Loan (Amendment) Regulations, 1945, and shall be read as one with the Second War Loan Regulations, 1944. (hereinafter reterred to as "the principal Regulations"), and the principal Regulations and these Regulations may together be cited as the Second War I oan Regulations, 1944 and 1945.

2. Regulation 7 of the principal Regulations is hereby amended by the addition thereto at the end thereof of the following proviso :-

"Provided that when the second Thursday of any month falls on a public holiday the drawing by lot shall take place on the Thursday immediately following.'

Made in Council, this 15th day of March, 1945.

(M.P. 582/44.)

O. R. ARTHUR, Clerk of the Executive Council.

The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Laws, 1938 and 1944. No. 69.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Laws, 1938 and 1944, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Prastio in the District of Paphos are published in the Gazette.

(M.P. 538/45.)

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF PRASTIO.

Rules.

1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Prastio Rules, 1945.

2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires— "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Paphos;

"Commissioner means the commissioner of the Division j "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division ; "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Prastic; "Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Laws, 1938 and 1944; "list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law

as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law; "works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 13th January, 1945. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of January and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the day next following its election.

4.--(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 30th November in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be unpaid : Provided that he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding twenty shillings per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.

6. All rates assessed under the provisions of the Law and of these rules shall be paid on or before the 30th November in every year.

7. The list shall be examined annually not later than the 1st day of March in every year by the Committee, who shall have power to amend same as in section 16 (6) of the Law provided.

8. The annual estimates of the Irrigation Division shall be submitted by the Committee to the Commissioner for approval not later than the 1st day of March in every year.

Gazette : Supplement No. 3: 14.9.1944