THE INCREASE OF RENT (RESTRICTION) LAW, 1942. No. 126.

NOTIFICATION UNDER SECTION 4.

J. V. W. SHAW, Acting Governor.

I, the Acting Governor, in exercise of the powers conferred on the Governor by section 4 of the Increase of Rent (Restriction) Law, 1942, do hereby order as follows:

The Schedule to the Notification No. 12 published in Supplement No. 3 to the Gazette of the 14th January, 1943, relating to the establishment, appointment and constitution of Rent Assessment Boards, is hereby further amended by the deletion of the name of "Mr. Nearchos Malikides" (who resigned) from the Rent Assessment Board of Limassol and the substitution therefor of the name of "Dr. Socratis Potamites.'

> Made at Nicosia, this 10th day of April, 1943. (M.P. 1212/39.)

No. 127.

The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Asgata, in the District of Limassol, are published in the Gazette. (M.P. 709/42.)

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF ASGATA.

Rules.

1. These Rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Asgata Rules, 1943.

2. In these Rules, unless the context otherwise requires— "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Limassol;

"Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division; "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Asgata; "Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938;

"list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as "works " means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 13th September, 1942. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of Septem ber and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the 13th September next following its election.

4.-(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 30th November in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be unpaid : Provided that he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

(4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.

5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding ten shillings per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.

6. All rates assessed under the provisions of the Law and of these rules shall be paid on or before the 1st October in every year.

7. The list shall be examined annually not later than the 1st day of March in every year by the Committee who shall have power to amend same as in section 16 (6) of the Law provided.

8. The annual estimates of the Irrigation Division shall be submitted by the Committee to the Commissioner for approval not later than the 1st day of March in every year.

9. The Committee shall from time to time authorize the treasurer to pay out of the money in his hands any sum required-

(a) for the works or for the maintenance or repairs thereof; and

(b) for any purpose approved by the Commissioner in connection with the operations of the Irrigation Division provision for which is made in any estimates approved by the Commissioner; and