No. 473

## THE DEFENCE REGULATIONS, 1940 TO (No. 8) 1942.

ORDER MADE BY THE COMPETENT AUTHORITY UNDER REGULATION 61.

In exercise of the powers vested in me by virtue of my appointment by the Governor as the Competent Authority for the purposes of regulation 61 of the Defence Regulations, 1940 to (No. 8) 1942, I hereby order as follows:

1. This Order may be cited as the Defence (Tanning Charges) Amendment Order, 1942, and shall be read as one with the Defence (Tanning Charges) Order, 1942, (hereinafter referred to as the "principal Gazette: Order") and the principal Order and this Order may together be cited Supplement as the Defence (Tanning Charges) Orders, 1942.

No. 3: 12.11.42.

2. The principal Order is hereby amended by the deletion therefrom of clause 2 and the substitution therefor of the following:—

"2. In this Order 'tanning' means the turning of hides (whether imported or local) into leather, commonly known as 'Tomarka' and 'Vourkes'."

> B. J. Surridge, Controller of Supplies, Competent Authority.

## No. 474. The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Argaka-Magounda, in the District of Paphos, are published in the Gazette.

(M.P. 776/42.)

## IRRIGATION DIVISION OF ARGAKA-MAGOUNDA.

## Rules.

- 1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Argaka-Magounda Rules, 1942.
  - 2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires-
    - "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Paphos;
    - "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division;
    - "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Argaka-Magounda;
    - "Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938;
  - "list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law;
    - "works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.
- 3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 30th August, 1942. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of August and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the 30th August next following its election.
- 4.—(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.
- (2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st October in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpail on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.
- (3) The treasurer shall be unpaid: Provided that he shall be paid such of his out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.
- (4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.
- 5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding ten shillings per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works.