No. 235.

## The Quarantine Law, 1932.

#### NOTIFICATION UNDER SECTION 4.

In exercise of the powers vested in the Governor by section 4 of the Quarantine Law, 1932, or otherwise, His Excellency the Acting Governor is pleased to declare and it is hereby declared that the local areas in the first column of the Schedule hereto are infected local areas and that all passengers and goods therefrom shall, as from the date hereof, be subject to the measures prescribed by the Quarantine Regulations, 1932 to 1936, with respect to the dangerous infectious diseases in the second column of the Schedule hereto.

The Notification No. 205, published in Supplement No. 3 to the Gazette of the 14th August, 1941, is hereby cancelled.

#### SCHEDULE.

Local area				Dangerous infectious disease
Bombay (India)				Cholera.
a) Palestine				Typhus.
b) Haifa (Palestine)				Plague.
Turkey				Typhus and Smallpox.
Anglo-Egyptian Sudan			Smallpox.	
Egypt				Typhus and Plague.
Iraq				Typhus and Smallpox.

Nicosia, 25th September, 1941.

By His Excellency's Command,

R. C. S. STANLEY.

(M.P. 289/41.)

Acting Colonial Secretary.

# No. 236. The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938, the following rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Gastria, "Avgolia", "Kamares", "Potamos", "Lourka", in the District of Famagusta, are published in the Gazette. (M.P. 783/41.)

Irrigation Division of Gastria, "Avgolia", "Kamares", "Potamos", "Lourka".

### Rules.

- 1. These rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Gastria, "Avgolia", "Kamares", "Potamos", "Lourka" Rules, 1941.
  - 2. In these rules, unless the context otherwise requires-
    - "Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Famagusta;
  - "Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division; "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Gastria, "Avgolia",
  - "Kamares", "Potamos", "Lourka";
    - "Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938;
  - "list" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law;

"works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division.

3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 29th June, 1941. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of June and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the 29th June, next following its election.

4.—(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and

charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in the list.

(2) The treasurer shall, on the 1st November in every year, prepare a statement of all rates or charges still due and unpaid on that date and shall forward such statement to the Commissioner.

(3) The treasurer shall be unpaid: Provided that he shall be paid such of his

out of pocket expenses as may be sanctioned by the Committee.

- (4) The treasurer shall be appointed for such period as the Committee may fix but in no case extending over the term of office of the Committee appointing such treasurer.
- 5. Every proprietor mentioned in the list shall pay a rate not exceeding five shillings per annum as may be prescribed by the Committee from time to time for every Government donum of land owned by such proprietor which is benefited or is capable of being benefited by the works: