Gazettes: Supplement

No. 3: 17.11.1939

3. 4.1940

ORDER MADE BY THE COMPETENT AUTHORITY UNDER REGULATION 61.

In exercise of the powers vested in me by virtue of my appointment by the Governor as the Competent Authority for the purposes of Regulation 61 of the Defence Regulations, 1940, I hereby order as follows :--

1. This Order may be cited as the Defence (Regulation of Milling Charges) (Amendment) (No. 2) Order, 1940, and shall be read as one with the Defence (Regulation of Milling Charges) Orders, 1939 and 1940, (hereinafter called "the principal Order") and the principal Order and this Order may together be cited as the Defence (Regulation of Milling Charges) Orders, 1939 to (No. 2) 1940.

2. Schedule A to the principal Order is hereby amended by the

deletion therefrom of item No. 2.

B. J. SURRIDGE, Registrar of Co-operative Societies, Food Controller, Competent Authority.

## No. 396. The Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938.

In pursuance of the provisions of section 19 of the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938, the following Rules made by the Committee of the Irrigation Division of Kato Pyrgos, Pano Pyrgos and Ayios Ioannis (Selemani), in the District of Nicosia, are published in the Gazette.

(M.P. 870/40.)

IRRIGATION DIVISION OF KATO PYRGOS, PANO PYRGOS AND Ayios Ioannis (Selemani).

## Rules.

1. These Rules may be cited as the Irrigation Division of Kato Pyrgos, Pano Pyrgos and Ayios Ioannis (Selemani), Rules, 1940.

2. In these Rules, unless the context otherwise requires:—

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the District of Nicosia;

"Committee" means the Committee of the Irrigation Division; "Irrigation Division" means the Irrigation Division of Kato Pyrgos, Pano Pyrgos and Ayios Ioannis (Selemani);

"Law" means the Irrigation Divisions (Villages) Law, 1938;

"List" means the list of the names and residence of the proprietors and of the lands and extent thereof which are to be benefited or are capable of being benefited by the works prepared under the provisions of section 15 of the Law as finally settled under the provisions of section 16 of the Law;

"Works" means the irrigation works of the Irrigation Division. 3. The Committee shall hold office for a period of three years beginning on the 26th May, 1940. Thereafter the election of the Committee shall take place every third year in the first week of the month of May and it shall hold office for a period of three years from the 26th May, next following its election.

4.—(1) The Committee shall appoint a treasurer who shall collect the rates and charges assessed upon the proprietors mentioned in

the list.